Print This Page See "Places of
St Mary's Anglican Church,
Submitted by Norah Desjardins, Beachburg.
In the village of Westmeath
Nestled in the small village of
Westmeath along the historic Ottawa River, St Mary's is Gods house to a few
dedicated residents. It was built in 1898, completed and dedicated on January
8, 1899 by Bishop Hamilton of Ottawa. The stone was drawn by horse from the
farm of Joseph Melancon, and most of the labour done by men of the
congregation. Gas lamps suspended from the ceiling were the means of lighting,
and it was heated by wood, also donated. A topic of conversation form our
frequent visitors is the old organ. It was placed in the church in May 1921.
The organ is an Estey pump model, and to this day it is still pumping out the
This picturesque edifice catches the eye of many tourists
passing through the village, and is low-maintenance and difficult to put an
insurance replacement value on.