The Collections


Ross House

Exhibit Hall

The Drive Shed

Heritage Garden and Picnic Area

St Aidans Church

Online collection

General items and objects

Ross House interior, Ross Museum, Foresters Falls, ONRoss Museum is the singular focus of the Whitewater Historical Society. The society was established in 1985 to promote and preserve local history, and collections were in safe keeping until the museum received the donation of the Ross House, a replica of an early 1800's home. The museum was opened to the public in 1995 and now has five buildings which house the collection. The most recent acquisition, St Aidans Church, is being restored as funds are raised.

Ross House

Ross House, early pioneer homeRoss House is itself a donation, moved in 1995 from the shores of Muskrat Lake and rebuilt by volunteers. It replicates an early pioneer home with kitchen, dining area, parlour and sleeping area. Visitors can view collections of china, early pottery, antique furnishings, a unique "prayer chair", pump organ, and wall decorations. Collections of children's clothing, quilts, weaving and lace work are featured in the upper room of Ross House, where a quilting frame displays a quilt in progress. Unique dresser chests, wardrobes and a primitive early bed with woven coverlet are on view upstairs.

Exhibit Hall

The former Ross Township Fire Hall in Foresters Falls, now the museum's Exhibit Hall, displays several theme-based collections. Artifacts generously donated by local members and former residents of the area are arranged for easy viewing. Journey back in time to the general store, schoolroom, barber shop, millinery and sewing sections, military and photo history displays. A small gift shop has unique items, and current history books of the region for sale

  • General Store
  • School Room
  • Barber Shop
  • Railroad display
  • Millinery
  • Wartime Memorabilia

Above, Some of our favourite characters. Visitors can also visit the gift shop and view the video archives. (top)

The Drive Shed

The drive shed houses the implements of the past. An early walking plow, farming tools, logging equipment and a photo logging exhibit are a few of the featured areas of interest in the drive shed

  • Farm
  • Blacksmith
  • Logging (top)
Heritage Garden and Picnic Area

Visitors traveling through Forester Falls are invited to picnic beneath the rear arbour or at one of the picnic tables overlooking the gardens and creek. The gardens provide a quiet place to escape and enjoy a variety of plantings. Springtime brings forget-me-nots and flowering bulbs and a variety of plants that change with the seasons. This private shaded retreat offers visitors a quiet place to reflect on the past. (top)

St Aidans Church
Restored altar, St Aidans Restored organ, St Aidans Restored adetail, St Aidans

A brief history of St Aidan's

By 1869 Foresters Falls was an outstation of the mission of Beachburg. In 1891 a church dedicated to St. Aidan was built on the 15th concession, 3rd line in Alice Township. By 1909 most of the congregation in that area had moved away.

On September 29, 1909, William S. Coleman and his wife Margaret of Foresters Falls, seeing the need of an Anglican Church in the village, deeded a parcel of land to the Diocese of Ottawa. The Church of St. Aidan in Alice Township was carefully cut into sections and moved the 25 miles to Foresters Falls. A petition was sent to the Rt. Rev. Charles Hamilton, Archbishop of the Diocese of Ottawa and on October 8, 1909, the church was consecrated for public worship.

Over time, extensive renovations were made and the church was bricked. Wardens at the time were W. S. Coleman and Peter Danlin. Over the years three generations of the Coleman served as Church Wardens.

For additional information on St Aidan's, see "Roots & Wings" by Beth Somerville and Peggy McLeod, 1998 in the gift shop.

Volunteers, Bill Oattes, Murray Dittburner and Rick Renault recapture the ancient art of tuckpointing hundred-year-old bricks. Volunteers have restored this local landmark to it's former beauty as a sanctuary. We now have a space where meetings and or special events can be held. The church displays many of the original artifacts.

We are seeking volunteers to assist those committed to this restoration project. (top)

General items and objects

There are 1002 objects in the museum, including:

  • Chinaware of the 1800's Period Furniture
  • Photos
  • Volunteer, Bert Montgomery repairing an old barrelBooks
  • Clothing
  • uniforms
  • quilts
  • Bedding
  • Jewelry
  • School desks and heritage school books
  • Barber shop items
  • Manuscripts
  • Photographs
  • Ceramics, Porcelain or Pottery Costumes
  • Furniture or Furnishings
  • Glass
  • Musical Instruments
  • Textiles or Tapestries

Key areas that are represented by Ross Museum:

The original St Aidan's Church, Foresters Falls
  • Local History
  • Agriculture
  • Costumes and Accessories
  • Maps, Charts, Plans or Blueprints Medals
  • Memorabilia
  • Military History
  • Technology
  • Forestry
  • Furniture or Furnishings
  • Household Objects or Domestic Technology (top)